Strength & Song

“Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the LORD GOD is my strength and my song, and He has become my salvation.”
Isaiah 12:2 (ESV)

I’ve always considered myself to be a strong person. I like to be independent, to help other people, to listen to their problems and be the one with the answers. But the flip side of that independence is that I struggle to rely on people, to accept help, to let other people listen to my problems and be the ones with the answers.

That habit is hard to break now that it’s established and I often find myself relating to God that way. I only come to Him with problems I’ve already solved. I tend ask Him what He wants me to do instead of bringing Him my broken pieces.

I laid awake in bed for most of the night last night. I was worrying and planning about a situation in my life. This morning, when I woke up an hour late (after less than 4 hours of sleep), I came across this verse as I was contemplating how last night could’ve been different.

Would last night have been different if I had let Him be my strength and my song?

Also, what does that even mean??

The Lord God is my strength… In order to be your strength, someone has to know where you are weak. He has to be the one I turn to before I try to comfort myself or plan my way out of my problems. I have to be intentional about bringing Him my pieces, my questions, my weakness.

The Lord God is my song…. When a song gets stuck in your head, you find yourself singing without realizing it. You just become aware in moments that you were humming “Party in the USA” under your breath (no? Just me? Ok cool). So to have the Lord be my song means that He has to become so ingrained in me that my subconscious sings His words.

So if He is my strength and my song, that means He’s the thing that I both consciously and subconsciously return to. He becomes my salvation, and not just my salvation for after I die; but my salvation in the nights that I can’t sleep because I’m worried about money and the days that I don’t know what I’m doing with my life. He becomes my salvation for my dark and lonely times and for the times where I think my problems are small enough to handle by myself.

But reaching that point isn’t something that just happens.

He IS my salvation, but He also has to BECOME my salvation through time and practice on my part.

Before He can be the song that is stuck in my head, He has to be the words I repeat through through my tears at 4am.

Strength & Song

Leave a Reply

