If I Were Able

If I were able, I would put the universe in my pocket

and bring it out when I need to remember

that I am part of something bigger than I know.

If time allowed, I would get lost in the empty space

between my thumbs as I hitchhike from galaxy to galaxy.

If it didn’t slip between my fingers,

I would scoop out the stardust and toss it asunder

so I could dance amidst moonlight and constellations.

If my eyes would let me, I would stare in wonder at the treasures

that swirled around me like my most perfect dreams.

If words existed, I would name the stars

for the way they make my eyes sparkle

and I’d share those names with you every time I saw you.

If you would let me, I would take you with me to every corner

of every universe so you don’t have to feel alone.

If I were able, I would hold the universe within my pocket

to help you see that this moment is just your beginning.

k.k. // If I Were Able

If I Were Able

Leave a Reply

